NFL Preview Short Version

This man is your friend.  He fights for freedom.

This man is your friend. He fights for freedom.

Sure this is coming out while the Cardinals have already started, but I just had my appendix out and my medicine made me fall asleep for a little bit longer than what I wanted.  Here’s my abbreviated preview of what this week may hold.  Again, if you take my picks and bet real money on them, that’s your fault.  Judging from my college football pick ’em, I might be the worst ever at pick ’ems.

ARIZONA  – 40
Atlanta – 24

Kurt Warner is going to be in warm weather.  Atlanta has a rookie quarterback.  I hope I am wrong, but I see Arizona winning this one and then throwing a stinker next week.

Indy – 38
SAN DIEGO – 34

As much as I would love to see an AFC west team make it a ways  to throw credibility to the Chiefs, it doesn’t matter.  Norv Turner is terrible, the division doesn’t deserve it, the football gods won’t let this happen, and on top of that, Peyton Manning is healthy again and the Colts have calmly rolled most of the season.  I’m not saying San Diego doesn’t have a punchers chance, but I don’t see it happening.  Indy will win and it will not be as close as the score I predicted.  Meaning, it will never be in question.  Also, don’t forget what happened last year.  Revenge is a dish best served cold, but in this case I think revenge will be a dish best served in San Diego’s back yard.  I hope Norv Turner likes the taste.

MIAMI – 24
Baltimore – 17

Baltimore is a very good team and Miami did the unthinkable this year.  Chad Pennington will need to play an incredible game, but I have always been a fan of his and I look for him to take his time and make zero mistakes en route to the win.  Personally, this is the hardest to decide on because both teams have been really impressive this year and I think at the core Baltimore is the better team, but Miami will be fired up (the crowd) and I think there are enough things going their way to get them to the second round.

MINNESOTA – 24
Philadelphia – 21 Final/OT

These teams are both so unpredictable to put any money on this game would be foolish.  If both QB’s show up to play today, I think this game could get out of hand quickly.  The score might be much greater than this, but I think this game comes down to an overtime field goal, and I think home field advantage will be huge for Minnesota here.  In the end it won’t matter, because neither of these teams strung three solid games together during the season, and there is no way they will do it in the post season, especially with New York and Carolina on deck.

~ by maxaverage on January 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
